Outstanding Alumni

Outstanding Alumni Award Recipients

Each year, OCC recognizes the accomplishments of one or more of its former students through its Outstanding Alumni Award. Candidates must have earned an associate degree or certificate (or the equivalent) from OCC at least 10 years ago, and have demonstrated leadership and significant professional achievement or community service.
Click here for a nomination application.

Past recipients include:

Year Name Occupation
2014 Anthony J. Filippis President and CEO of Wright & Filippis
2013 Michael McCready Michigan House Representative
2012 Richard Matott Chief of the Bloomfield Hills Department of Public Safety
2011 Jacqueline Johnston Superintendent of Huron Valley School District
2010 Daniel Patrick O’Brien Oakland County Circuit Court Judge in the General Jurisdiction Division.
2009 Patrick M. McQueen CEO of the Michigan market for The PrivateBank
2008 Holbert Bill Maxey Retired
2007 Robert Reid, MD Oakland Medical Group at Royal Oak’s William Beaumont Hospital.
2005 Patrick M. Dohany County Treasurer
2004 Robert J. Egan, M.D. ’82 Family Physician, Activist
  Margaret Kelly ’79 President & CEO RE/MAX International
2003 Andrew J. Feustel, Ph.D. ’86 Astronaut
2002 James Slowik ’73 IRS Investigator, Community Volunteer
  Clarence Phillips ’70 State Legislator
2001 Dorothy McLeer Environmental Educator
2000 James R. Lang ’84 Entrepreneur
1999 David Hay ’73 Senior Administrator, Kelly Services
1998 Danny D. Greig, II, M.D. ’89 Doctor
1997 Anna Zimmerman ’89 ’98 Respiratory Therapist
1996 Norma Carline ’76  
1995 Sandra McKinzie ’83 Respiratory Therapist
1994 Nicholas Abid, D.O. ’71 Doctor