Michigan Region Scholarships

Phi Theta Kappa members have access to more than $37 million in scholarships - a benefit unmatched by other honor societies.

  • Participating Colleges
    • For a full list of scholarships available from over 700 colleges and universities around the country, login to the eScholarship directory on ptk.org international website.
  • Michigan Region Scholarships
    • The following is a list of schools in Michigan offering scholarships exclusively for Phi Theta Kappa Members:
Albion College
Alma College
Aquinas College
Baker College of Auburn Hills
Baker College of Cadillac
Baker College of Cass City
Baker College of Clinton Township
Baker College of Flint
Baker College of Jackson
Baker College of Muskegon
Baker College of Owosso
Baker College of Port Huron
Central Michigan University
Ferris State University
Grand Valley State University
Kettering University
Lawrence Technological University
Madonna University
Marygrove College
Michigan State University
Northern Michigan University
Oakland University
Saginaw Valley State University
University of Detroit Mercy
University of Michigan - Dearborn
Walsh College of Accountancy & Business Administration
Wayne State University
Western Michigan University
William Tyndale College


Phi Theta Kappa Sponsored Scholarships:


A list of institutions offering transfer scholarships in your state. For full detailed information about these scholarship offerings, including contact information, deadlines and awards, please log in to our transfer planning tool, your CollegeFish.org username and password were emailed to you when you became a member. For assistance with usernames or passwords, contact tech_support@collegefish.org.

The All-USA Community College Academic Team Program

Annually selects 20 students to the national team, each receiving a $2,500 stipend and medallion as recognition as an outstanding two-year college student. All receive extensive national recognition through coverage in USA TODAY.

The Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation

The establishment of the Coca-Cola All-State Community College Academic Team program, providing up to $350,000 in stipends. Fifty students will be named Gold Scholars, receiving $1,500, 50 students will be named Silver Scholars, receiving $1,250, and 50 students will be named Bronze Scholars, receiving $1,000. A state may have multiple Gold, Silver or Bronze Scholars. All scholars will also receive special medallions and will be listed in an April issue of the USA TODAY newspaper. Finally, an additional 150 national finalists will be selected from multiple states, each receiving a $1,000 stipend. Phi Theta Kappa sponsors 37 All-State Academic Team Recognition ceremonies, during which stipends, scholarships and special recognitions are presented to All-State Team winners.

All-USA Competition

The top scoring student (based on scores received in the All-USA competition) from each of the 50 states will be named a New Century Scholar and will receive a $2,000 stipend. New Century Scholars will be presented at the AACC Convention. In addition, one student from a chapter in Canada and one student from a chapter outside of the United States will be named a New Century Scholar. The New Century Scholars program is sponsored annually by the American Association of Community Colleges, The Coca-Cola Foundation, the Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation, and Phi Theta Kappa. Students nominated to the Coca-Cola All-State Community College Academic Team are automatically named to the All-State Academic Team in 37 participating states. All-State members receive special recognition including medallions, certificates and oftentimes stipends and scholarships.

The Frank Lanza Memorial Scholarship

Awards scholarships to students currently enrolled in associate degree programs in registered nursing, respiratory care and emergency medical services. Up to 25 students will be awarded $1,000 stipends, to be used for degree completion while enrolled at the community college.

The Guistwhite Scholarships

Awards up to 20 qualifying students scholarships of $5,000 each for completion of baccalaureate degrees.

The Hites Transfer Scholarship

To support the outstanding academic achievement of Phi Theta Kappa members. Students enrolled in community colleges who demonstrate high academic achievement and desire to transfer to a regionally accredited baccalaureate degree-granting senior institution are eligible to apply. Up to five students will receive a $7,500 scholarship to be used once the student enrolls full time at a senior institution.

Leaders of Promise/GEICO

Business Student Scholarship is the Society's first scholarship program available to members to be used during the time they are enrolled in their community colleges. Up to 30 scholarships of $1,000 each will be awarded based on applications submitted by members. In addition, the two top scoring business majors that apply to the Leaders of Promise/GEICO Business Student Scholarships will qualify for a $1,000 GEICO Business Scholarship.

The Jack Kent Cooke Foundation Grants

The Jack Kent Cooke Undergraduate Transfer Scholarships, the most generous scholarships ever offered to graduating community college students. The scholarship awards provide funding for tuition, room and board, books and other required fees for the remainder of the Jack Kent Cooke Scholar's bachelor's degree, generally two years. Candidates for this scholarship must be nominated by their community college in order to apply. The maximum available per student is $30,000 per year.

Nota Bene

Phi Theta Kappa's literary honors anthology, annually publishes outstanding entries submitted by Phi Theta Kappa students. The author of the most outstanding submission will be presented with the Citation Scholarship, an award of $1,000. Four manuscripts will be chosen to receive Reynolds Scholarships, awards of $500 each.