Outstanding Alumni Award

Each year, OCC recognizes the accomplishments of one or more of its former students through its Outstanding Alumni Award. Candidates must have earned an associate degree or certificate (or the equivalent) from OCC at least 10 years ago, and have demonstrated leadership and significant professional achievement or community service.

Past recipients, with their affiliation at the time of the award, include:

 Year    Name  Occupation
2018 Ruth Johnson Secretary of State, State of Michigan
2017 Tom Gillis PGA Professional Golfer
 2016    Andrew Sayes Corporate Executive Chef, Slows Bar BQ
 2014     Anthony J. Filippis   President & CEO, Wright & Filippis
 2013   Michael McCready  Representative, Michigan House Representative
 2012   Richard Matott   Chief, Bloomfield Hills Department of Public Safety
 2011  Jacqueline Johnston  Superintendent, Huron Valley School District
 2010   Daniel Patrick O'Brien Judge, Oakland County Circuit Court General Jurisdiction Division
 2009  Patrick M. McQueen  CEO, The PrivateBank Michigan Market
 2008     Holbert Bill Maxey       Retired
 2007  Robert Reid, M.D.                                    Physician, Oakland Medical Group, Royal Oak Beaumont Hospital
2005 Patrick M. Dohany  Treasurer, Oakland County
2004 Robert J. Egan, M.D. '82   Family Physician, Activist
  Margaret Kelly '79  President & CEO, RE/MAX International
2003 Andrew J. Feustel, Ph.D. '86  Astronaut, NASA
2002  James Slowik '73                                      IRS Investigator, Community Volunteer
  Clarence Phillips '70 State Legislator
2001 Dorothy McLeer Environmental Educator
2000  James R. Lang '84 Entrepreneur
1999 David Hay '73 Senior Administrator, Kelly Services
1998 Danny D. Greig, II, M.D. '89  Doctor
1997 Anna Zimmerman '89 '98 Respiratory Therapist
1996    Norma Carline '76  
1995   Sandra McKinzie '83  Respiratory Therapist
1994 Nicholas Abid, D.O. '71   Doctor